Hi readers,

While exploring what Disney+ had to offer, I discovered they had the old ‘Escape to Witch Mountain’ movie, which I was a fan of when I was like 7. I didn’t remember anything of the movie really, only that it was about two brothers, and that the girl had a sort of magical bag, and I remember what they were. So I got excited, watched the movie again, then comes the credit and surprise, surprise, it was based on a book. So you know what I did? I went and read the book, because my boy found it on Kindle and got it for me.

‘Escape to Witch Mountain’ by Alexander Key: 3/5 stars

And this was so much fun! But, boy, as it tends to happen, this is way darker than the Disney movie, these poor kids just can’t get a break in the book, everyone wants them for far more than the evil schemes Deranian planned on the movie. But I do have to admit the book and the movie are very similar, so this felt like visiting and old friend and reliving my childhood once more.

The premise is simple, Tony and Tia are two orphans who can’t remember where they come from, but they know they have powers they’re not suppossed to show to others. Tia can only communicate through her mind in the book and can open locks, and Tony moves things with music. In the book, Deranian knows what they can do and he wants them for all the evil things you can probably think of, and since he is rich he hunts them down with all he’s got. That means that these poor orphans have been accused of robbery, theft, and even witchery. There’s a point in the book where you have an angry mob with pitchforks going after them.

Luckily, they have a priest helping them (is not a random old guy like in the movie), and they also kinda discover there’s more people like them living on a small town, so they tricky part is getting to them without getting caught first. It really is very similar to the movie, just a little more dangerous for the kids. And it makes for a great scifi read for kids, there’s action, some danger, and family love.

Carol GF(c)
For more book content check out my social networks:
Goodreads: Carol GF
Instagram: a.girl.and.her.books.9

Deja un comentario